The representatives of the Quebec Region CFIA – S&A Sub-Group cordially invite you to our Annual General Meeting (AGM).

WHEN?  Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 5 p.m.


PIPSC Quebec Regional Office (1000 Sherbrooke St. West, Suite 2330, Montréal, H3A 3G4)

CFIA St-Hyacinthe Regional Office (3225 Cusson Ave, St-Hyacinthe, J2S 0H7)

 CFIA Québec Regional Office (2954 Laurier Blvd, Place Iberville IV, Room 100, Québec, G1V 5C7)

Any other office approved by the Executive

Members can also participate via conference call:  1.866.500.7802.  Conference # 5886514


  • Roll Call (members of the Sub-Group Executive)
  • Approval of agenda
  • Election (this year, many positions are up for election)
  • Follow up and adoption of the minutes of the previous AGM
  • Annual President’s Report
  • Update on bargaining (Maryse Valiquette)
  • Science Regulatory (SR) update on roles descriptors and classification grievance (Émilie Gagné)
  • PIPSC Structure description (Stéphanie Fréchette)
  • New business, including By-Law amendments (

 Guest:  Robert Melone, Labor Relation Officer of PIPSC for CFIA    

* Please plan to print your documents if you wish to have paper copies at the AGM

A draw will take place at the end of the meeting.

All S&A members are eligible to hold office, nominate members for positions on the Sub-Group Executive, propose amendments to the Sub-Group’s By-Laws and Regulations, and vote on Sub-Group issues. The Sub-Group Executive is comprised of 9 members : a President, a Vice-President, a Secretary-Treasurer and Members-at-Large, who are elected by and from among Sub-Group members at the Sub-Group Annual General Meeting. All members in attendance at the Annual General Meeting are eligible to vote. Voting for positions on the Sub-Group Executive is by secret ballot. Otherwise, voting is normally by a show of hands. Each member has one vote. Decisions are made by a simple majority vote.


This year, many Executive positions are up for election. Renaud Guiard, President of the Ville-Marie Branch and member of the Quebec Region Executive, has agreed to chair the election, i.e. receive nominations and conduct the election. Nominations must be submitted in writing ( or made from the floor of the Annual General Meeting. Voting for positions on the Sub-Group Executive is by secret ballot.

The following are elected positions; here is a brief description of each one:

President (1) The President convenes and chairs meetings of the Sub-Group and the Sub-Group Executive.   * position up for election *

Vice-President (1) The Vice-President assists the President in the performance of his duties, and in the absence of the President, performs the duties of that position.

Secretary-Treasurer (1) The Secretary-Treasurer is responsible for sending notices of and keeping records of all meetings of the Sub-Group and the Sub-Group Executive for the period required by Institute policy. The incumbent ensures that a copy of the minutes is sent to PIPSC. The Secretary-Treasure is responsible for submitting reports as required and in accordance with the By-Laws and Regulations of PIPSC and the Group.

The Secretary-Treasurer maintains the Sub-Group’s financial records as required by Institute policy, presents a budget at the first Sub-Group meeting of the fiscal year, submits financial statements to PIPSC as required and prepares the annual request for the yearly Sub-Group allowance. Copies of the financial report are made available to all Sub-Group members.

Members-at-Large (6) Members-at-Large perform such duties as may be assigned by the Executive. *3 positions up for election*

Please RSVP by sending an email to

15$ will be given to those who confirm their attendance in an office and eat.  Please note that those joining us by phone will not get this amount.

We look forward to seeing many of you there!

Your CFIA – S&A Sub-Group (Quebec Region) Executive

Sylvie D’Alcantara, President

Claude Desaulniers, VP

Isabelle Woolgar, Secretary

Hugo Fréchette, mandated Treasurer

Judith Gagnon, Member-at-Large

Stéphanie Fréchette, Member-at-Large

Julie Bourque, Member-at-Large

Natacha Salehi, Member-at-Large

Geneviève Gagnon, Member-at-Large